9. Jan. 2023

Great news for the RNA and viral biology scientific community. From 20th to 23rd June 2023, CEITEC Masaryk University will host the famous EMBO Workshop and this time with a special focus connecting two disciplines of major social importance – RNA research and virology. This workshop is organised by EMBO member Stepanka Vanacova from CEITEC Masaryk University (Czech Republic), Oliver Mühlemann from the University of Bern (Switzerland), Olivia Rissland from the University of Colorado School of Medicine (USA) and Georg Stoecklin from the Heidelberg University (Germany). The organising team managed to bring together 20 excellent speakers, 12 from top European research institutions and eight speakers from North America. This EMBO Workshop will bring together molecular biologists working on basic mechanisms controlling RNA turnover with virologists exploring RNA turnover in the context of virus-host interactions, and propel the scientific exchange in this emerging area of research.

Among the participants of this EMBO workshop will be up to 200 experts from the whole world. This ideal conference size offers perfect space for the exchange of the newest research findings and plenty of opportunities for networking and for the establishment of new fruitful research collaborations. Besides the scientific presentations, the participants can look forward to the rich accompanying social program. EMBO Courses and Workshops are selected for their excellent scientific quality and timeliness, provision of good networking activities for all participants and speaker gender diversity.

The four days long EMBO workshop will take place in the Czech capital of science and technology Brno, the city where J.G. Mendel once laid down the foundation of modern genetics. The hosting institution CEITEC Masaryk University is famous for its modern buildings and state-of-the-art equipment that is hard to find elsewhere. Combined with the regional South Moravian hospitality this is truly a conference one should not miss. Sign up now and be one of the 200 conference guests who will jointly influence the future direction of RNA research viral biology!

Viruses are major human pathogens that cause a wide range of infectious diseases, representing a constantly recurring challenge to the health of individuals and the functioning of human society. Only a profound understanding of viral biology will provide the basis for developing and improving antiviral therapies. While RNA turnover has long been studied in the context of cellular gene regulation and quality control mechanisms, the interplay between RNA turnover and viral life cycles is only now emerging as a key component of virus-host interactions. For example, Herpes viruses, Poxvirus, Influenza viruses and SARS-Coronavirus encode ribonucleases that cleave host mRNA and thereby support virus reproduction. Flaviviruses such as Dengue virus, West Nile virus and Hepatitis C virus encode a non-coding RNA that blocks Xrn1, a major cellular exoribonuclease, as a means to escape from an antiviral activity. The endonuclease RNase L is another component of the mammalian antiviral defence system, highlighting the importance of ribonucleases in the encounter of viruses with their host cells.

Among the conference speakers will be Hana Cahova from the Czech Academy of Sciences (Czech Republic), Sara Cherry from the University of Pennsylvania (USA), Andrzej Dziembowski from the University of Warsaw (Polland), Imed Gallouzi from the McGill University (Canada), Britt Glaunsinger from the University of California Berkeley (USA), Pierre Jalinot from the University of Lyon (France), Jack Keene from the Duke University (USA), Nicolas Locker from the University of Surrey (UK), Sarah Newbury from the Brighton and Sussex Medical School (UK), Mary O'Connell from CEITEC, Masaryk University (Czech Republic), Melanie Ott from Glatstone Institute (USA), Roy Parker from the University of Colorado Boulder (USA), Lori Passmore from the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology (UK), Sebastien Pfeffer from the University of Strasbourg (France), Andreas Pichlmair from the Technical University of Munich (Germany), Alessia Ruggieri from the University of Heidelberg (Germany), Lena Steckelberg from the Columbia University (USA), Marvin Tanenbaum from the Hubrecht Institute (Netherlands), Benjamin tenOever from the New York University (USA), Volker Thiel from the Universität Bern (Switzerland) and Jeff Wilusz from the Colorado State University (USA).

Sign up NOW to secure the early bird discount starting at 180 EUR!




Read More

News Press Releases

EMBO Practical Course on Light Sheet Microscopy Just Started at CEITEC

18. 8. 2022