1st Symposium on Recent Advances in Cryo-Electron Microscopy

18. 4. - 19. 4. 2018, 09:00 - 13:00
building A35, University Campus Bohunice

1st symposium on Recent Advances in Cryo-Electron Microscopy will gather the researchers to discuss the latest advances in cryo-electron microscopy with several world leading experts in the field. 







Stefan Raunser Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund, Germany  
Pavel Plevka CEITEC MU 
Maryam Khoshouei Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany
Jose Maria Salvador Carazo Spanish National Center for Biotechnology, Madrid Spain
Juergen Plitzko Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany
Abhay Kotecha University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom




18th April 2018 (held at CEITEC)


Session 1: Cryo-electron tomography


Juergen Plitzko (keynote)

Advances and developments in cryo-electron tomography for in situ structural biology


Thermo Fisher Scientific 

Cryo-electron tomography applications

11:35–12:00 Coffee Break (facility visit, group 1, 11:40 – 11:55)

Carsten Sachse

Higher-order selective autophagy assemblies visualized by a multi-scale EM approach


Abhay Kotecha

Hybrid methods allow structure based vaccine design for picornaviruses


Florian Schur

Towards atomic resolutions using cryo-electron tomography and subtomogram averaging

13:25–14:30 Lunch (facility visit, group 2, 14:10 – 14:25)

Session 2: Single particle analysis


Stefan Raunser (keynote)

The power of cryo-EM to elucidate biological mechanisms


Thermo Fischer Scientific

Single particle analysis solutions

16:25–17:05 Coffee Break (facility visit, group 3, 16:30 – 17:00)

Pavel Plevka

Mechanism of RNA virus genome release


Maryam Khoshouei

Phase contrast single particle analysis


Jose Maria Salvador Carazo

Directional Local Resolution in XMIPP and Scipion: A new way to assess map quality and macromolecular flexibility

19:15–22:00 Dinner

19th April 2018 (held at Thermo Fisher Scientific factory)

9:00–12:30 Factory Visit
12:30–13:30 Lunch
13:30 Departure